Marked for Death: Part IX

Marked for Death

Part IX: Dates

“Well that was something.” Amber said once my parents and Emma left for their hotel.

“Something good or something bad?”

“New and confusing?” She chuckled. “I’m so not used to parents acting like that. Like they care about you as a person and not just about  how you perform.”

“I’m sorry.” I wrapped my arms around her waist and hugged her tightly.

We went back inside together. I spotted Tyler all by himself in the kitchen getting himself a drink. He looked rather grim even if he tried not to. Unlike me, he hadn’t received any kind of visit. I split up from Amber and went toward him.

“Hey.”

“Hey.” He answered back.

“How are you?”

“Alright.”

“Since the parents are leaving Sunday afternoon, mind if we move movie night to then?” I asked.

“Sure.” Tyler said with a shrug.

I nodded before spontaneously wrapping my arms around him.

“What’s that for?” He asked with a chuckle.

“Don’t think I haven’t noticed your mom and sister aren’t here.” I said.

He looked down for a moment. “I get it, they’re busy and can’t take the weekend off.” It sounded more like he was excusing their absence than really understanding.

“Well you can hang out with my family, they’ll totally adopt you. My dad keeps bringing in strays whenever he find them.”

“What am I, a little puppy?” He said with a chuckle.

“A lonely puppy that I like.” I corrected him.

He smiled. “It’s getting late, you should probably go to sleep now.”

“You’re right, but hey, if you need someone to talk to, just come and find me, okay?”

“Will do.”

I gave him a second, quicker, hug before wishing him goodnight. I went up to Amber’s room even though Emma was at the hotel with my parents, I opted to spend the night with her again, even if I went to bed first to catch up sleep to make up for my dream-avoiding schedule.  

In the morning, the parents showed up again one by one. Even though they were technically on vacation, my parents couldn’t stop themselves from baking, whipping up a batch of fresh bread just the the hell of it. They were total baking-aholics. When Mr. Martin came to get us to the auditorium they put a timer on the ovens so the bread would finish on its own. The parents-free classmates staying home would catch it if anything went wrong anyway.

After a long rather boring speech about Ravenhold, its history, programs and all those things nobody but parents and cape-nerds cared about, it came time to meet the teachers through the day. That meant that I had to sit awkwardly as my parents discussed things with my teachers and had to be reminded how terribly I was doing academically. The only reason I didn’t run away was Amber, who held my hand through the whole day, quietly encouraging me.

By the time my family left for a dinner with the other parents I felt like I had had my dose of Ravenhold for the next month. Schoolwork was one thing, talking about schoolwork was a whole new level of torture. I was sort of vegetating in the sunroom, my brain over exerted from having to deal with it all when Amber and I’s phone beeped. She got hers first.

“Caroline’s inviting everyone to an under 21 dance club, they’re leaving in less than an hour.”

“Yes, anything to get away from school! I’ll even fight more onis, bare handed if I have to.” I said, shooting up.

Amber snickered. “You leave the oni punching to me. Going out sounds nice but Are you sure going dancing is a good idea?” Amber asked, clearly concerned. “You’re supposed to rest.”

“Just a bit of dancing and plenty of rest in between and I’ll be fine.”

“We better get ready then.”

We split up; me going to my room and her to hers. As I hadn’t brought anything remotely date worthy while running away from Ravenhold, I scrounged through the bag of stuff my family had brought me. I sifted through the loose clothes until my fingers found one very specific piece I distinctly knew.

I pulled out the revealing black lace corset Emma had brought me over a year ago. I’d never had the courage to even put it on after the first time. I blushed just at the thought of it. It wasn’t indecent, but at the same time it didn’t hide much… The thought of wearing it for Amber made my chest a million degrees hotter.

I removed my shirt and bra and tried it on. It still fit and it wasn’t too tight or anything and it held up well. I switched my jeans to a less baggy-slackery pair and stood up, looking myself in the mirror. I could feel butterflies in my guts, was I really doing this? I could feel myself chickening out. So, I picked up my phone.

EMMA! <

> Yeah?

i think im doing smthn dumb <
how do i look <

I sent her a picture and hid my face under a pillow. I heard the beep of her answer but didn’t dare look just yet. It took me a minute to dare myself to.

> You’re gonna knock her socks off. 😉

I need serious u <

> Annabelle, you look smashing. She’s going to love it and if you don’t believe me, I’ll come and tell it to your face right now.

I breathed out a sigh of relief. At least I didn’t look dumb or silly, wearing something sexy despite my size…

There was a knock at the door and Amber spoke up. “Can I come in?” She asked.

“Yes…” I said, gulping.

She slipped through the door and fuck she looked good. She hadn’t even done much, she’d just brushed her hair into a nice fluff and thrown on a leather jacket, which looked all kinds of hot on her…

“Woah.”She said breathlessly upon seeming me. “You look great.”

“Thanks…” I muttered.

She came closer to me and put her hands on my hips.

“Are you alright, babe?”

“I’ve just never worn something like that ever.”

“I’m telling you, you look stunningly gorgeous.” She said with a grin. “But, if you don’t feel comfortable then go ahead and put something more comfortable. I want you how you are, don’t need to dress up just for me.”

“No, I’ll wear this.”

Amber kissed me and we spent a few minutes letting our body do the talking, only stopping because Yougen came into the room to change, wanting to go to the club too. We left the room and joined the others waiting to go out. Tyler wasn’t anywhere to be seen and I hadn’t seen him at all since the early morning… I sent him a text asking if he was alright but got no answer.

“So, eh, you’re holding hands.” Mace remarked out loud, coming close to Amber and I.

“That’s because we’re flaming dykes.” I answered.

He just stood there blinking, not sure what to answer. “Good for you?” He said after a moment of silence.

The comment had inevitably drawn attention, serving and my official Ravenhold coming out. I tried not to blush under the attention and congratulations.

“Bus is leaving in eleven minutes.” Said coming out of her and Caroline’s room along with Jenna, Caroline’s sister. “Let’s go!”

Leave a Reply

