Chased By The Past: Part IV

Chased by the Past

Part IV: Runaway

My mind was still reeling from what Sentinel had told me as I decided to head upstairs. Someone grabbed my arm as I passed though and I realised it was Sanjay, and he was about to introduce me to his family. This was definitely something I did not have the time or mental energy to deal with.

“Hey, this is my roommate Jaeger,” he said. He introduced each family member in turn. His mother and his sisters.

“Hi,” I said, giving a polite wave. They talked around me, discussing Ravenhold, occasionally asking my opinion on what it was like here. One of Sanjay’s sister’s even tried to get embarrassing stories out of me. I continued to do my best to be polite but all the while I was thinking about my own family somewhere out there. Sanjay leaned over to me while his mother talked.

“You should’ve seen Charlie, she blushing and clearly crushing on Ahti’s sister,” he murmured. “It was kind of cute.”

“Really?” I asked.

“Yeah.” I couldn’t help the wide grin on my face, I was going to have to tease her tons about it when I got back – although the logistics of how I would manage that were a matter for another day.

“Thank you!” I said, hugging him without thinking. He seemed momentarily stunned. I then  quietly excused myself to head upstairs to our room. Trying to figure out what I needed to pack for a trip to the mainland as I walked. Instead of going to our room though, I overheard voices down the corridor; it sounded like Sage and Allen were arguing. Normally I’d have left them to it but considering I might not be here that long to give Allen his due, I decided to step in. Their bedroom door was ajar so I stuck my head in time to hear the tail-end of a sentence from Allen.

“-take off the skirt and wear some jeans for christ sake!” he yelled.

“I’ll wear whatever I want – I don’t care what you or your family think-” Sage begun, stepping into Allens space and looking seriously pissed. Then Allen did something that surprised all of us, including him. He pulled Sage into a kiss. I blinked, completely thrown. It lasted a split second before Sage shoved him away.

“What the actual fuck?!” Sage yelled, their cheeks flushed as they covered their front with cross arms.

“I don’t know, you just do something and – fuck,” he muttered.

“I do nothing Allen, that was all you,” Sage replied, lowering their voice.

“I’m not some fucking queer like you!” Allen yelled back. Alright, weirdness aside I’d had enough. By this point there was quiet downstairs, meaning others could hear their shouting match. I stormed into the room and dragged Allen by his shirt collar away from Sage.

“Enough,” I told him. He shoved me, throwing me into the wall hard enough to knock my head.

“Jaeger!” Sage cried, running over and fussing but I was fine. Furious, but fine. I stood up, glaring at Allen.

“Shit, sorry I didn’t mean to-” he began.

“You’re a fucking mess Allen. Get your shit together,” I muttered. Then I threw a right hook, feeling my fist connect with the cartilage of his nose. He yelled in pain, backing away from me, his hands covering his nose. I could see blood was dripping between his fingers. His body was shaking and his eyes were squeezed shut, like he was fighting some internal struggle. Footsteps pounded on the stairs and Caroline appeared. She pushed me aside lightly and rushed over to Allen, speaking to him calmly about not freaking out.

“I’m so out of here,” I muttered, turning and leaving the room – and coming face to face with Sanjay.

“What did you do?” he asked. Oh no, I was not taking shit from him as well. I ignored him and headed to our room but he followed, frowning as I began throwing things onto the bed.

“What are you doing?” he asked.

“Going somewhere for a while,” I answered.

“Did Mr Martin really give you permission to do that?” he asked.

“Do I strike you as someone who cares about getting permission from some washed up hero?” I threw back. Sanjay hesitated before closing our bedroom door.

“Okay, what’s really going on Jaeger?” he asked.

“Nothing, I’m fine-”

“You’re clearly not,” he interrupted. I stopped what I was doing and let out a sigh, running a hand through my hair. I couldn’t tell him everything. He’d never get it.

“You won’t understand, just go back downstairs to your nice, normal family,” I muttered.

“You don’t know anything about me or my supposed ‘normal’ life and family, so how about you don’t just presume how my life is?” He snapped crossing his arms. “And maybe someone would understand you if you didn’t always push me, Vanessa or anyone who tries to be nice to you away.” I blinked at Sanjay, surprised. In all the time ‘d known him his manner had always been mild but I’d really hit a nerve here.

“You’re right, I don’t know anything, sorry,” I apologised. “I need some fresh air,” I muttered, leaving the stuff on my bed and walking past Sanjay out of the room. When I came downstairs it was to a flurry of lawsuit threats from Allen’s mum and Sage’s dad was trying to calm things while their mum made sure everyone was okay. Credit where it’s due, Ian handled the heat pretty well.

Outside the air was a lot cooler and there was a light drizzle starting. No one was out here, save Charlie flomped somewhere near the house. I bypassed her and walked closer to the treeline.

“Things took a dramatic turn in there, didn’t they?” a female voice murmured to my left.

“Something like that,” I replied without really thinking. I hesitated, that voice, there was no way. I glanced to my side and there she was, knowing smirk in place.

“Long time no see Jaeg,” she said, using her old nickname for me. She was wearing a simple black dress with a glossy scarf around her neck and covering her bare shoulders. Her long black hair had been tamed into a simple ponytail with bangs free for her fringe. Familiar hazel eyes meeting mine.

“What the hell are you doing here Kellen?” I whispered, checking no one was watching us.

“I heard you were in town so I thought I’d say hello,” she shrugged. “Don’t worry, no one is watching us,” she added.

“Good, that means you have plenty of time to leave before anyone can figure out who you are,” I said.

“Calm down Jaeg. I’ve been doing this a long time you know. Now one can connect my face to my mask. Besides, don’t you want to see your dad?” she asked.

“You mean he’s here? Have you both lost your minds?” I asked, trying my hardest not to raise my voice.

“No, he’s waiting for you by the coast. Three teleports away, if you’re willing to come with me. They haven’t converted you into an actual hero, have they?” she asked, laughing.

“What do you think? It was this place or jail,” I muttered, shoving my hands into the pockets of my jeans, trying to combat my sudden nerves. She smirked at the motion, of course, I forgot how well she knew me.

“Well that’s a relief. So, we doing this or what?” she asked.

“Yes,” I replied, taking her offered hand.

Leave a Reply

