Past Scars: Part II

Past Scars

Part II: Old Flames

“What are you doing here Roxanne?”

“I wanted to see you.” She said, her voice almost pleading. 

“The organization—”

“Doesn’t know I’m here. You know that they give me some leeway, after all it’s not like I can run away. Plus it’s hard to keep track of a girl with my powers.” I lowered my knife and let her go from my telekinetic grasp.

“What do you want?”I asked.

“For one to see you, it’s been so long…” She came a step forward and put her hands on my hips but I brushed them off. She seemed disappointed by that. “I guess we’re not that close anymore.” She sighed.

“You didn’t just come here to fuck did you?”

“Of course not.”

“What is it then?”

“Isn’t it obvious? You got away Jaime, shook off the drugs. How did you do that?”

“I don’t know.”

“You don’t know?”

“I had help, but I was half unconscious. I don’t fucking remember what happened, okay?”

“What kind of help? Who was it?”

“I don’t know what he did… and I sure as hell don’t know if I should tell you.” I sighed. She grabbed one of my hand and squeezed it. “Fuck it.” I sighed. “His name’s Mace, he does shit I don’t understand, some of it got me off the drugs.”

“Where is he?”

“He’s here too. I know, fucking coincidence.”

“Maybe it’s fate.”

I rolled my eyes. If fate was real she had some shit to explain about how my life had turned out.

“Let me get him.”

I went back into the house. I called Mace out and he came over from hanging out with Tyler and Yougen, both of whom also hadn’t had any visitors either. I grabbed his hand and dragged him to the corner of the garden where Roxanne was still waiting.

“I need you to do something.” I said.

“Sure, what is it?” He asked, like there was nothing weird happening. 

“Repeat that shit you did to get me off drugs.”

“What drugs?”

“When we first met?”

“When was that again?”

“Last summer”

“Are you sure about that? I have a blank.”

“Great, as always you’re so fucking useful.” I sighed. Despite my comment, Mace didn’t seem to mind. Sometimes the guy was a real doormat, letting people step all over him. His eyes fell on Roxanne.

“Hi. Do I know you?” He asked with a smile before looking at me. “Do I know her too?”

“You don’t.” Roxanne said rolling her eyes. “Are you sure its him? You’re not fucking with me, are you?”

“No, his brain’s just fried from whatever mojo he’s got, I’m surprised he can remember how to tie his shoes most days… Right now he’s useless to you. Probably take a day or two for his brain to get better.”

“Great.” Roxanne said. “I’m due tomorrow afternoon and it’s a ten hour travel back. No way I can wait that long.”

We didn’t get to brainstorm any more as Caroline came toward us, gave them the signal to shush.

“Hey guys.” She said jovially. “Dinner’s served if you’re hungry.”

Roxanne introduced herself as my cousin under a fake name before shaking Caroline’s hand and quickly jumping onto small talks about the meal ahead. We all went into the kitchen and sat at the absurdly massive table, which didn’t see a whole lot of use. We mostly ate at the kitchen’s breakfast counter or scattered about doing other stuff. Nobody questioned Roxanne’s presence.

“I should go.” Roxanne said once dinner was over. “Walk me out?”

I nodded we left the house together, walking toward the gate.

“What we had… Was it ever real for you?” She asked after a moment of silence.

“I don’t know.” I said with a shrug. Despite everything that had happened between us, I still didn’t know what if anything I felt about girls…

“Really?”

“I was lonely and hurt, you were there. You helped with that and you got what you wanted. I don’t know what else you want me to say…”

“Is that really how you think of me? That I was just using you, that it was just sex?”

“It’s what everyone does.”

“I’m sorry.” She said, coming up to me and wrapping her arms around my shoulders.

“What for? It was a fair trade I guess…”

“I’m sorry that’s how you feel. And while I doubt you’ll really believe me, for what it’s worth, I genuinely do— did love you.”

I just nodded. She was right, I wasn’t sure I believed her. She probably was just trying to score some more points hoping I could help. And really she was the one who’d taught me how survival was the most important thing, no matter the cost…

“I guess this trip was for nothing.” She sighed as the main gate came in sight. “I’ll have to find another way.”

“Wait. I think I know someone else who might help.”

“You do?”

“It’s not going to be magical miracle cure, might not work and even if it does it’ll take a while.”

I took her hand and guided her to the doctor’s clinic. Thankfully Ravenhold grounds were distinctive enough and filled with enough landmarks I’d become easily able to find my way around using my sixth sense.

“Jaime, you know I can see a doctor.” She said, seeing the clinic.

“She’s different. We can trust her.”

She didn’t protest any further and we came into the clinic, signing up. We had to wait a few minutes before the doc called us into her exam room.

“Hello, Jaime, how can I help you?” She asked, looking at Roxanne.

“I need a favor.”

“What kind of favor might that be?”

“Something you need to keep secret. My friend here needs help and if anyone learn you did help, she’ll be in trouble. If the Legion or anyone but us knows the people she’s trying to get away from will probably know too.”

I’d been with the organization long enough to know what happened to those of us who had thought themselves smart enough to get help. The organization had eyes everywhere. Dead parahumans and missing doctors was typically the result of trying to get help… She inspected me for a moment, then spent a moment focused on Roxanne.

“Tell me everything.”

So I did, told her about the organization, about the drug, about its effect and what little we knew of the organization. To my surprise, she agreed to help Roxanne and keep it a secret. She took quite a lot of blood, leaving Roxanne feeling woozy when we left.

“You really think she can do it?” She asked, crashing more than sitting on a bench outside before putting the meal bar doc venus had given her into her mouth.

“She collects medical diplomas like you collect bugs.” I said. “If anyone can, it’s her.”

“Thank you.”

“I shouldn’t have left you behind. If I hadn’t maybe Mace could’ve fixed you too.”

“You had no way of knowing that.”

“But—”

I didn’t get to finish my thought as she pressed her lips on mine. I didn’t return the kiss and she took a step back awkwardly.

“You don’t have to defend what you did.” She said. “All that matters is that you’re alive and you keep fighting on. That’s what I’ll do. I just hope we’ll get to meet again when we’re both free.”

I nodded.

“Thank you for your help.”

With that she vanished, leaving me there alone. Her power was more than just invisibility, she faded from my sixth sense as well.

Leave a Reply

