Sky’s The Limit: Part IX

Sky’s The Limit

Part IX: Yet to Come

I woke up sometime later in the bed alone, dimly aware I should be worried about something but everything was too comfy and warm and soft and lovely for me to care. I blinked my eyes open again and registered where I was. Panic struck me and I sat up, checking the clock and groaned.

“Afternoon sleepyhead, or rather evening,” Allison joked, appearing in the doorway armed with what smelled deliciously like hot chocolate.

“Why didn’t you wake me?” I cried. I immediately regretted it, realising I had raised my voice. Allison themselves looked a little unsure, still holding the hot chocolate.

“Sorry,” I sighed, rubbing my eyes. “I shouldn’t keep falling asleep randomly like this. It completes throws my sleep schedule out and exacerbates my narcolepsy more,” I explained, not that it excused my yelling.

“It’s okay,” They replied. “ I didn’t realise. Next time I’ll wake you up,” they promised. They put the mugs on their bedside table and sat next to me, suppressing a giggle.

“What?” I asked, still feeling mildly irritated.

“You have cute bed hair,” they said, reaching a hair to fluff it up more. I reached up my own hand and cringed a little. My hair felt so dry and brittle.

“I should probably not bleach it again for a while,” I murmured.

“What’s your natural hair colour?” Allison asked, silently handing me hot chocolate.

“Thanks,” I whispered. “And it’s brown, not easy to make white,” I laughed.

“You should ask Caroline, she seems to have gotten it down,” Allison suggested.

“I might. Should probably ask how she keeps her hair looking all nice and not like this…” I replied, sighing.

“For the record, I think your hair is great,” they said, a small blush creeping on their cheeks. I felt myself burn up a little at the compliment. Did they feel the same about me as I did them?

“I think yours is so much better. Your braids were the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen,” I complimented back, grinning.

“Oh you big flatterer,” they said, laughing. “But if you like braids so much, I’ve got no choice but to do your hair now. And I won’t take no for an answer.” I blinked at her determined tone before letting out a small laugh of my own.

“As if I’d ever say no to you,” I said, hoping the meaning carried. I really wouldn’t say no to anything they wanted to do with me. The thoughts made me blush further.

“Turn around and prepared to be bored for a while,” they said, laughing more.

“Well, we can watch another movie. I can show you one of my favorites,” I suggested.

“That’d be great.” I quickly found one of my favourite films and relaxed, feeling their hands brush and work my hair. Their touch was soft and gentle, I caught myself before I let out a sound of enjoyment. That might have been a bit too comfortable. Although spending time with them always did feel that way regardless. I wondered if we would ever move past the friendship growing between us. I was happy to have Allison in my life as this or as more. There wasn’t much point overthinking it for now. The year had only just begun and I was sure there was plenty more silliness and drama to come.

When the movie was finished I went back to my room to grab a change of clothes and shower. I got dressed and settled down to do some homework. I was just wearing jeans, plain shirt and a black hoodie, my hair now a bunch of small braids. Admittedly this was about masculine as my clothing ever got and I was pretty sure I hadn’t had a more masculine day here yet but those were always rarer.

I looked up as the door opened and Allen walked in, immediately taken aback by my appearance.

“Hi,” I said. “Did you take notes from history? I’m stuck on something.”

“Erm, yeah,” He said, recovering from his surprise. He reached into his backpack and handed me a notepad. I blinked at the random doodles outside the margins.

“I didn’t know you could draw,” I commented.

“I don’t,” he replied.

“Maybe you should, you’re not half-bad,” I suggested, copying what I needed onto my pad. “You don’t use your pad for note taking so you obviously enjoy it.”

“Drawing is for girls,” Allen said off-handedly, flopping onto his bed. I frowned and looked up at him.

“Drawing is drawing. You can’t gender an activity,” I replied.

“Yes you can. You can gender everything. You wear skirts when you feel girly, right?” he replied.

“I wear skirts because I like wearing them. The fact society generally sees them as feminine is society’s issue,” I replied.

“Well you would have a lot less issues if you dressed as you are now, just saying.” I started at his words before narrowing my eyes.

“Actually, I’ve barely ever encountered issues. I surround myself with accepting people. The only person who has ever given me real grief about being myself is sitting across from me.” He opened his mouth to reply and stopped.

“I wasn’t trying to-” he cut himself off. “Sorry.” I let out a sigh and stood up.

“I’ll study downstairs actually,” I murmured.

“Dinners ready, by the way,” he said as I walked through the door. I nodded continuing to head downstairs. The year was just beginning, and I had a feeling there were going to be a few more clashes before Allen actually accepted everyone, if ever.

Leave a Reply

