Adventure: Part XI

Adventure of a Lifetime

Part XI: Diner at Harborside

Since our clothes were caked in flour the two of us got changed, putting the drapes between our beds as to have some privacy, sure I wasn’t going to be indecent but as much as I liked Charlie I wasn’t comfortable changing in front of others, not even her.

I went for something simple; a white tiered skirt, a plain black tee and my comfy denim vest. When I opened the drape, I saw that Charlie wasn’t done. A minute later she came out.

She’d gone for something really nice; a pair of slacks and a buttoned up shirt. It was definitely really masculine, but she looked really great wearing it. Although with the two buttons left open, I could see the top of her flesh colored sport bra.

“You look really nice.” I said, giving her a smile.

“You too.” She said, a little flustered. That girl wasn’t very good at handling compliment.

“Ready to go?”

She nodded and we went out toward the gate together, she took my hand in hers, something I didn’t mind. The Guy at the gate didn’t mind letting us out, just telling us we had be back before ten on weekdays.

After a few minutes on the curb, my mom pulled over in the family car. Beside me, I could feel Charlie tense up, clearly nervous at meeting my mom. Unknowingly, she jerked her hand away from me.

I climbed in the back seat first, preferring to sit with Charlie rather than leave her alone. I mean, she was already nervous, so I didn’t want to add any anxiety on her shoulder.

“Hey Mom.” I said, stopping in the middle seat and going forward, giving my mom a quick peck on the lips before sitting down.

“Hello Sweetie.” She said.

Charlie took her seat and my mom turned around to look at her.

“Mom, this is my friend Charlie.” I said. “Oh she’s also my roommate.”

“It’s nice to meet you Charlie, I’m Colleen.” My mom told her.

“Hello Ma’am. It’s really nice to meet you. I hope I’m not intruding.” Charlie said, visibly nervous.

“I’m too young to be a ma’am. Just Colleen is fine. And don’t worry about it, Caroline’s friends are always welcome at my table.”

“So, where are we going?” I asked.

“I checked, the Harborside Hotel’s restaurant has some openings.” I had zero clue about what the Harborside Hotel was, but I didn’t object.

“Harborside’s good.” Charlie said. “I go there with my dad often.”

“You go there often?” My mom asked.

“I’m a local, I live nearby, it’s like only a twenty minute walk away.”

“Oh I see.” She said before driving toward town.

Turns out the Harborside Hotel’s restaurant was a bit on the chic side, which made me feel awfully under dressed, and specialized in local Maine seafood. I was a bit worried that the hostess would be suspicious of our trio but instead she came to greet us.

“Miss Coleman, good to see you. Your usual table is waiting for you.” She said respectfully before guiding us to said table.  

“You’ve got your own table?” I asked as we followed the Hostess.

“Technically it’s my Dad’s. Since Ian can’t cook to save his life we got to restaurants almost everyday and there’s basically only four or five really good places around town. This is his favorite place. Heck, if we wait another hour or two there’s good chance he’s going to be here.”

We sat down and a waiter came to us within only a few seconds, giving us menus and taking drink order. My mom ordered some wine, which she couldn’t even get drunk of due to her ability, the only time I’d ever seen drunk was after drinking something only a tiny bit below pure ethanol, while Charlie and I settled for soft drinks.

I picked the menu and looked through it. Every single plate sounded like the most amazing thing in the world. 90% of it, outside of desserts, being made of fresh seafood. But then I saw the prices…

“Damn, this place is expensive…” I muttered.

“Order whatever you want, I’ll cover the bill.” Charlie offered.

“Can you afford that?” My mom asked in disbelief.

“I have a seven figure trust fund in my name.” She said in a matter-of-fact way. “So it’s really not an issue.”

“What does your father do?” Colleen asked, her curiosity piqued.

“He’s a superhero. Like father, like daughter.”

“There are superheroes in Havenport?”

“Not really, he mostly hangs around New York when he’s working.”

The waitress came back and we ordered, although I felt a little guilty for paying that much for food. At Charlie’s recommendation I picked her father’s favorite; the herb crusted halibut. While she went for surf n’ turf and my mom for the classic clambake. Charlie also ordered some appetizers for us; fresh oysters, crab cakes and Calamari.

“So yeah, Jason and I are really well settled for life.”

“Who’s Jason?” I asked.

“He’s my little brother.”

“Wait a minute, you have a brother?”

“Yeah, he’s six.” I said with a shrug. “And he’s a spoiled little brat.”

“So is he also adopted?”

“Yeah, kind of a long story. Basically my dad is friends with these other heroes and one of their child turned out to be a transgender boy so they asked my dad for help. Simon and Ian have been really close since, but about seven years Simon got pregnant from his then boyfriend. Mind you he was sixteen at the time, didn’t know what to do, plus he’d broken up with his boyfriend before he even found out he was pregger… Anyway, he turned to my dad for support and in the end decided to keep the baby, with Ian adopting little Jason.”

“Does Jason know about Simon?” My mom asked.

“Yeah, it’s an open adoption. Simon’s still finishing up college but he drops by almost every week. And my dad’s been pestering him to move in with us when he’s finished.”

To say Charlie had a really weird family situation would have won the award for understatement of the century.

After a few more minutes of conversation, I started to feel my kidneys kind of ache and my bladder screaming at me, a common thing since I’d started HRT.

“I’ll be right back.” I politely said before getting up and skipping to the bathroom before my bladder exploded.

After a quick biological function break, followed by an awkward tucking attempt in a public bathroom and a quick refreshment, I went back to the dining room.

“So, what did I miss?” I asked sitting back down.

“Nothing important really.” Charlie said, I noticed that she’d returned to her stressed out way being visibly tense.

I looked at my mom and signed to her; “What did you tell her?”

“Nothing.” She answered in american sign language. I glared at her and she continued. “I just told her to be nice to you.” She said with a shrug.

“Oh my god, mom. I don’t need you to scare my friends.”

“Caroline, no blasphemy.”

“I’ll repent later. Look at her, she’s scared.”

“She’s a superhero, I can’t be that scary.”

“She’s tiny and a baseline. You’re huge and can bend steel like paper.”

“You guys want me to leave? Because I feel like I shouldn’t be part of this conversation…” Charlie said.

“No, it’s alright.” I said, giving her a comforting smile. “Just some sensitive mother-daughter talk.”

“Oh okay.”

Thankfully dinner was served shortly and we dug in. To say everything was good would be to insult the chef; it was amazingly delicious. Charlie even shared some bits of her butter poached lobster and mid-rare cooked fillet mignon with me. Once dessert was over, my mom sipped a coffee for a few minutes before getting up.

“Alright, I better get you back to your dorm.” She said.

“I think we can find our way back.” I said, getting up and pulling Charlie’s hand so she’d get up with me.

“Caroline…” She said but I didn’t listen.

We still had about an hour and a half before curfew, which left plenty of time to go back on foot if we had to, so I dragged Charlie with me outside.

Previous                                                                                                                 Next

Leave a Reply

