FireStar: Part II

FireStar

Part II: Fragmented

I woke up and started to panic when I couldn’t remember anything. I didn’t know where I was. Looking around, I struggled to regain any memory of this place. With my familiar case at my side, I put it on my lap and opened it to see the sword in there, all safe and sound. I stared at it some more and felt my life force course through the blade. I started to relax as the memories started to come back in bits and pieces. I decided to go out and see who else was here.

There were a few people around, but I didn’t know who they were. Up until now, I just barely remembered the bus ride over here, but I could only recall my conversation with Yougen. My grip around the handle for the case tightened. I then remembered that this has happened before.

“Morning, Mace…” An unfamiliar voice said from behind me.

I turned to face them, but I couldn’t place the name to the voice. A red-haired girl was standing there with a slightly stressed look on her face.

“Who…are you?” I said, my unease growing.

I couldn’t understand the look that was on her face.

“Is this a joke?” She said, her expression turning dark.

“No, it’s not. Just tell me what’s going on here.”

“You forgot about everything?”

“Some things…”

“I forgot this was a problem. Come on, let’s go outside and talk.”

“Alright.”

She hesitated before holding her hand out. I wasn’t comfortable with such intimacy with a stranger and just stared at it. She sighed and went out the door. I followed close behind her. She sat one of the chairs and I sat beside her. She took a deep breath before talking.

“What do you remember?” Her voice was quiet.

“My…sword case.” I took it out and held it in my hands.

“Anything else?”

“Well I think I-” My voice trailed off when someone else came outside and stared at us. Even without my memory, my mind told me she was bad news.

“What’re you looking at?”

“N-Nothing.” I looked down.

“You’re so weak, Mace.”

“I am not…”

“You keep trying to hit it off with people, but you’ve got nothing to offer it looks like.” She said with a confident grin.

“Y-Yeah, well…you’re no different!” I said after a few choice memories of her came back.

“What’s that?” Amber looked irked with what I said.

“I saw you with Annabelle. You think she wants to see this side of you?”

“I’m gonna fucking break you.” Her voice was low like a growl.

I don’t remember ever feeling so afraid in my life. She came over to me and that look of anger in her eyes was one I’d never seen in a person before. I flinched when she lunged out at me and I shut my eyes from fear. When I felt nothing, I looked over to see that she was being held in place somehow. She was struggling against whatever this was. I didn’t have time to figure out what was going on before that red-haired girl took my arm and ran inside.

She shut the door behind her after I came into the room. She looked to be having some trouble breathing for a few minutes.

“Are you okay?” I came in a little closer and put a hand on her shoulder.

“Yeah. I don’t think I’ve ever run that fast before.” She laughed halfheartedly.

“Did you hold her back somehow?”

“I had to. I was lucky to pick up that she was wearing those metal bands…”

“Well…thank you.”

“You’re welcome, Mace.”

“This your room?” I looked around the place.

“Yes, for now.” She went over and sat down on the bed.

I found another chair and sat down once more, the case was set down at my side.

“So who are you?”

“I go by the name of Jaime or…Sliver.”

“I’m Mace, nice to meet you!” I offered my hand for her to shake.

She just looked at it.

“You really don’t remember.” She said in disbelief.

“I’m sorry.” I pulled back and frowned.

“I guess I deserve it for how I treated you.”

“No, don’t think that. It’s just gotten a little worse, I think.”

“Any reason why?”

“Using my sword is a little demanding. Plus I don’t know how long the seal can hold…It might be why this is happening.”

“What’s this about a seal?”

“Um, nothing.”

“Tell me.”

“No.”

“It’s important, isn’t it? Will it take you away?” Her voice was a whisper.

“It’s not important. Not right now, anyway.”

Jaime looked frustrated. I didn’t want to tell her that, of all things. She seemed a little on the somber side and I’d probably only hurt her more on top of my frequent amnesia. I thought she deserved better.

Silence hung in the air for a while. I was still a little shaken up from what happened. I had no idea she’d react that way. How was I supposed to go back out there with her around?

“What am I supposed to do?”

“She won’t act that way when there’s others around, I bet so you should be okay for now. I’ll also…look out for you. It would be nice if you could remember us, though…”

“Um, us?”

“W-Well…” A bit of redness came across her face.

“Were we…?”

“Yeah, for a while.”

“Oh. I’m so sorry.” I buried my head in my hands.

“I’ve said some awful things to you and treated you terribly. Maybe it’s for the best that you don’t remember all of that.”

“Did…I change?”

“No, I did. I got paranoid and scared when my ability started to get stronger and my health was deteriorating. The only thing I knew was to push you away and distance myself from everyone. It was only a short while ago that I realized that I couldn’t do it anymore…even though it would hurt them terribly if something happened to me.”

“No one should be alone during that sort of thing. I’m sorry you had to be.”

“I’ve learned my lesson, even though I’ve never been a social person to begin with.” She shrugged.

“I appreciate having you around, ma’am.” I gave her my best smile.

“Likewise, Mace…” She gave a faint smile in response.

 

Leave a Reply

