Broken: Part VIII

Broken Legacy

Part VIII: Meeting Mama Bear

Just as Caroline had promised, she got working on a Cake as soon as we came home. Like the previous times I’d helped, I became her minion, just obeying her commands. This time however, she gave me some additional responsibilities; making the icing. So I followed her commands religiously.

Caroline had only finished her cake a few seconds earlier when Jaeger, Sage and Allison, who had guided them to the administration, came in.

Sage looked like they were about to pass out from the surprise while Jaeger’s eyes quickly went for the stairs. He was about to bolt when Caroline gave him a slice of cake, which defused his attempted escape.

Instead the three of them joined us in the backyard for sandwiches and cake. Allen was mysteriously not among them, maybe he’d gone to whatever hiding spot Yikaru seemed to spend her evenings in. Still, I didn’t bother to ask for his whereabouts.

We got cake distributed and showed our stuff to Sage and Jaeger, with me going first once again and showing my mad skillz with the staff. Amber went next and demonstrated her agility with her claymore.

After Mace, Caroline took a turn and it was stunning. She stepped into the middle of the pool, literally walking on water before she created some kind of dragon-snake creature from it, sitting on it’s head and rising into the sky.  

She stayed there for a moment before the head lowered her and she stepped down next to me.

The whole backyard had shut up and just looked in awe. I gave Caroline a round of applause and the others joined me.

Caroline, was just radiating; the shy girl who though she couldn’t do anything was gone at the moment. I could see her face stretched into a smile and her chest puffed up with pride. At that moment, she was more beautiful than ever before.

“That was amazing…” I said as she sat down. “You’re not even wet.”

“My power has its advantages.” She said. Although she was still booming with pride, I could see that her face had gone livid.

“Although I can’t help but notice you’ve gotten a few shades paler.”

She nodded in answer and I got up, getting her some cake and a box of juice. She seemed happy at the attention as she digged in, replenishing her batteries.

After a few minutes, I noticed Allen sneaking through the crowd and finding a chair away from everyone else. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why he’d possibly thought he was invited to the party.

Caroline got up and went inside, coming back a few minutes later, holding a plate of cake and some kind of paper. To my surprise, She went straight for Allen, shoving the plate of cake in his hands as whatever the folded up paper sheet was before coming back my way.

“You went to see Allen?” I asked.

“Someone had to.” She said, shrugging.

“So what, you’re giving him a chance?”

“Maybe I’m naive, but I’m just hoping that he’s just an idiot who doesn’t know any better and that if we just give him some help and a little time he’ll learn.”

“That’s optimistic.”

“I think most people are good and want to do right, but sometimes they need some help.”

“Well, if that doesn’t work, I know a way to keep him quiet.”

“Whatever you’re thinking, that’s not going to happen.” She said, not the least bit amused.

“Fine, Allen’s off limit.”

Caroline’s phone buzzed and she checked the message she’s just received before typing one back.

“Who is it?” I asked.

“My mom.”

“Is Mama bear checking up on her cub often?”

“Only about a few hundred times a day.” She said with a roll of her eyes.

Ian wasn’t any different though, he’d send me texts all the time to the point I’d come to completely ignore them until the end of the day. If he had anything urgent to talk about, he just had to call. Although as smothering as he could get, I didn’t mind too much; Ian was just compensating for his own crappy childhood by spoiling us rotten and being overprotective with both my little brother Jason and I.

“Good thing she’s not here, it’d be hard to have a party with her constantly watching.” I said.

“Actually, she’s taking a vacation in town.”

“A ‘vacation’ uh? That sounds oddly suspicious.”

She answered with a shrug. “Honestly, if it means she’s taking a few days off the farm, even if it’s so she can run to my rescue if she needs to, I don’t mind. Although she wants me to go have dinner with her like right now.”

“Do you wanna go?” I asked.

“I dunno, we’re kind of having a party here.”

“Well, we’re probably going to have a lot of those, but how often are you going to see your mom in the next few months?”

“I guess you’re right… Say, do you want to come with me?”

“You’re inviting me to have dinner with your mom?”

“Well, you invited me to have dinner with your dad earlier, and it’s probably going to be your only chance for a while.”

“Touché. In that case I’d love to meet your mom.”

The two of us got up and left the party without notifying anyone. Caroline decided to get changed into a clean set of clothes and I did the same. Rather than just my casual dud, I went for my more formal clothes; a button shirt and a blazer with slacks.

“You look really nice.” Caroline said once I pulled the drape back from side of the room. She wore a white fluffy tiered skirt and a black shirt under a denim vest. The skirt was fairly short and she didn’t have any tights or leggings underneath, exposing her legs…

Her very nice legs…

“You too.” I answered after a moment, trying to regain my composure.

We got out and walked to the main gate. Only a few minutes later, A dark green SUV pulled over to the curb where we were waiting, driven by a extremely bulky woman with flowing brown hair and smooth facial features. I could see the resemblance between her daughter and her.

“Hey Mom.” Caroline said as she hopped in the back seat. She stopped midway through to give her mom a kiss on the lips.

“Hello Sweetie.”

Once she was in place, I got in, sitting next to Caroline and buckling up.

“Mom, this is my friend Charlie, oh she’s also my roommate.” She said.

“It’s nice to meet you Charlie, I’m Colleen.”

“Hello Ma’am. It’s really nice to meet you. I hope I’m not intruding.”

“I’m too young to be a ma’am. Just Colleen is fine. And don’t worry about it, Caroline’s friends are always welcome at my table.”

“So, where are we going?”

“I checked, the Harborside Hotel’s restaurant has some openings.”

“Harborside’s good.” I said. “I go there with my dad often.”

“You go there often?” Colleen asked, raising a brow.

“I’m a local, I live nearby, it’s like only a twenty minute walk away.”

“Oh I see.” She said before driving toward town.

The Harborside hotel was, rather obviously, an hotel just by the side of the harbor. It was one of the biggest building in Havenport; a three story building with roughly forty personal bedrooms for guest to rent as well as its own restaurant and a terrace overlooking the bay.

Caroline’s mom parked her car and we got out and into the restaurant itself. The hostess immediately recognized me and brought us to the Coleman’s permanently reserved table.

“You’ve got your own table?” Caroline asked.

“Technically it’s my Dad’s. Since Ian can’t cook to save his life we got to restaurants almost everyday and there’s basically only four or five really good places around town. This is his favorite place. Heck, if we wait another hour or two there’s good chance he’s going to be here.”

“What does your father do?” Colleen asked.

“He’s a superhero. Like father, like daughter.”

“There are superheroes in Havenport?”

“Not really, he mostly hangs around New York when he’s working.”

The waitress came over and we ordered; I went with a classic fillet and lobster surf n’ turf, Caroline ordered a herb crusted halibut with spinach puree and potato gallette while her mom went for a clambake.

Dinner itself went fairly smoothly, with Colleen asking me some questions here and there; nothing too intrusive.

Although Caroline was really surprised to learn I had a brother. Obviously he was adopted but he wasn’t from a tragic accident; his bio dad was one of Ian’s friend or rather transgender son of a friend and he’d gotten pregnant but couldn’t take care of little Jason since he was just seventeen so Ian had taken him in. Still, Simon dropped by every so often and Jason was very proud to have two dads. I just didn’t tend to mention him since he was eight years younger than me and we didn’t get along much.

“I’ll be right back.” Caroline said, getting up and heading to the bathroom.

As she got up, I couldn’t help but stare at her. A thousand dirty thoughts invading my head.  

“You like her, don’t you?” Colleen asked, getting my attention back.

“Well, yeah, she’s a good friend.”

“What I mean is; you want to get naked with her.” Just then, my cheeks caught fire while my heart just stopped.

“You’re not going to tell her, right?” I nervously asked.

“I won’t. She’ll have to figure it out on her own, or more likely you’re going to tell her yourself when you’re ready to.”

“You’re not like… against it?”

“You have no idea how often I’ve been in your position; being gay for a girl who was completely oblivious to it. Ultimately, it’s Caroline’s decision on whether or not she reciprocate your feelings.”

“But…” She began again. “And this is an important but, If you hurt her: I. Will. Break. You.” She said.

Oh it wasn’t a threat, it was a promise. And I fully believed her.

“So, what did I miss?” Caroline asked, sitting by my side.

“Nothing important really.” I answered sheepishly.

Previous                                                                                                                 Next

Leave a Reply

