Sanguine: Part I

Sanguine

Part I: Glimpse of Freedom

The trip here had been exhausting. The organization I was with sent me through that rift and to…wherever I was now. This reality didn’t seem too different. They’d made plans to have me still work for a similar company and I obeyed their wishes. The second I made my way into this world, I felt as though I left something behind. Those memories from long ago were something I held dear to my heart and I’d hate to lose them. They were the only thing I fought for, really. That and so others wouldn’t have theirs torn away by the grip of fate, as dramatic as that sounds.

I was assigned to be a part of this team and attend this institution so I could maximize my potential. Not much different from what I had before, but I preferred solo work. The others seemed kind enough, other than that pale girl who’d been referred as “Sliver”. She’d gotten away with calling Ahti an “it”. I assumed it wouldn’t happen again as the more opinionated members of the groups seemed protective of them. Where I was before, I hadn’t seeing any beings who’d originated from anywhere other than Earth before. I was eager to get to know them along with the others, but that anxiety was still heavy in my mind. It was one of the few things that reminded me that I was still human deep down.

I hadn’t really spent that much time here ever since I arrived and I felt as though I needed time to unwind. They kept me rather busy, so I didn’t have much time for more personal occasions. They seemed to figure this out when I started to show signs of fatigue during my recent training. I didn’t want to admit that I was as winded as I’d been. Fatigue still ran through my head as I planned to read through the customs and history of this dimension. I wasn’t sure if I could focus.

I sat down and looked through the things I set aside for a particular pen I was fond of, but couldn’t find it. I liked having things neat and organized. Having something in a different place from where it was before had me thinking that I was crazy, like it moved on it’s own or something. I kept searching for it, but it was nowhere to be found. Okay, I wasn’t crazy. I knew I set it down right beside the shelf.

I looked over and the pen was on the desk. Maybe I was really tired, or something. I went over to pick it up and then found the ink was all gone. I cursed under my breath before I heard my room mate come through the door. She threw that large sword aside in the most carefree way I’d ever seen and went into the other room. I hated that I’d have to make enemies this early on, but I had to confront her…even though she did look a little scary.

“Hey, did you use this pen?” I went up to her and held it out.

“I dunno.” She seemed disinterested.

“How can you not know? Unless we’ve had someone else in here, it wouldn’t make sense that it would move somewhere else.”

She shrugged and didn’t reply.

“I have to deal with someone like you during my time here. Great.” I mumbled.

“Someone like me, huh? What’s so bad about that?”

“I’ve already noticed your careless attitude has spread to your mannerisms. Your things are everywhere! How can you live in this mess?!”

“Look, ‘someone like me’ probably wouldn’t be the worst for someone who’s as tense as you.”

“What? So I could pick up on your shameful habits? I’ll have no part of it!”

Amber laughed under her breath for a moment.

“What’s so funny?”

“Oh, this is just oddly familiar, that’s all.” She looked a bit nostalgic.

“Hm, so you’ve had to travel here too, right?”

“Yeah. I like to think I didn’t leave anything behind. It seems I’ve been kidding myself.”

There was a sorrowful look in her eyes. She then looked back at me.

“It’s Sanguine, right? I haven’t really caught your actual name.”

“I’m 3…um…sorry, it’s been a while since I was referred to anything other than numbers. I’ve been assigned the name Yikaru Kensuke. It’s nice to meet you.” I said the last part in the most genuine way I could.

“Nice.” She made no attempt at a handshake.

“Who’re you known as? I go by Sanguine.”

“Amber.”

“No, I mean like…here, it’s on your name tag.”

“We were supposed to keep those?”

I sighed and looked down. It was on the floor next to a photo. I took both in my hands and looked at them.

“Morall…tach? Interesting. I had no idea that-” My voice was cut off when I was shoved against the wall, her hand had me by the throat and that scary look returned to her eyes.

“Where the fuck did you get this!?” Her voice broke in parts from stress.

I tried to speak, but my air was getting cut off. She dropped me moments later and took a few steps away, the photo now in her hands.

“Tell me where you got it.” Her voice came again, calmer this time.

“It was on the floor.” I coughed.

“Bullshit, I’ve been looking for it since I got here.”

“It was right next to the identification card. I have no reason to lie to you.” I held it out to her.

She was staring bitterly at the ground in front of us.

“Don’t touch it again.” She said after a lengthy silence.

“Who’s in the photo?”

“None of your business.”

She sat back down on the bed and turned away from me. The picture had someone who resembled her and someone else. They both looked similar. If I didn’t know better, I’d say they were related.

“Something happened to her, right?” I kept my voice low.

“I don’t want to talk about it.”

“Alright…well, if you want to talk I’m here. I’ve lost my father a while ago, so I have an idea of what you’re going through.”

“You have no idea. No one fucking does.”

“He died by my hands. I couldn’t control myself…” I sat down on the opposite bed and tried not to be overcome by the memories.

Amber sat up slowly and looked in my direction.

“June was all I had.” She whispered.

Next

Leave a Reply

